The Blog

TODAY IS A GOOD DAY TO SUPPORT BANDS ON BANDCAMP February 03 2017, 0 Comments

As a lot of you know, Bandcamp is donating their share of sales to the ACLU today, which is very cool. We aren't officially on Bandcamp, but a lot of the bands that we've worked with are, so we've compiled a list for those of you looking to support music and free speech today:

Big Surr: bigsurrisreal.bandcamp.com
Colleen Green: colleengreen.bandcamp.com
Cross Country: crossscountry.bandcamp.com
Cy Barkley: cybarkley.bandcamp.com
Daddy Issues: daddyissuesband.bandcamp.com
Dead Soft: deadsoft.bandcamp.com
Dehd: dehdforever.bandcamp.com
Denny and the Jets: denneyandthejets.bandcamp.com
Diarrhea Planet: diarrheaplanet.bandcamp.com
Dion Lunadon: dionlunadon.bandcamp.com
Dirty Dreams: dirtydreams.bandcamp.com
Ed Schrader's Music Beat: edschradersmusicbeat.bandcamp.com
Faux Ferocious: fauxferocious.bandcamp.com
Fielded (Cake Bake Betty): fielded.bandcamp.com
Guerilla Toss: guerillatoss.bandcamp.com
Gnarwhal: gnarwhal.bandcamp.com
Jawws: jawwsmusic.bandcamp.com
King Bitch: kingbitchofficial.bandcamp.com
Left & Right: leftandright.bandcamp.com
Milk Dick: milkdick.bandcamp.com
Music Band: musicband.bandcamp.com
No Regrets Coyote: noregretscoyote.bandcamp.com
OGG: iheartmrogg.bandcamp.com
PUJOL: pujoldotcom.bandcamp.com
Rozwell Kid: rozwellkid.bandcamp.com
Slanted (Casey Weissbuch): slanted1.bandcamp.com
Spanish Candles: thespanishcandles.bandcamp.com
Stoneham Tapes (Breast Massage/old JEFF): stonehamtapes.bandcamp.com
Study Hall: sneakyeurekas.bandcamp.com
The City and I: thecityandi.bandcamp.com
Thunderzone (Juiceboxxx): thunderzoneusa.bandcamp.com
Toby Coke: tobycoke.bandcamp.com
Uncle Bad Touch: ubt-666.bandcamp.com
Wet Illustrated: wetillustrated.bandcamp.com
White Reaper: whitereaper.bandcamp.com
Yucky Duster: yuckyduster.bandcamp.com


IT'S A WET ILLUSTRATED, BIG SURR, CY BARKLEY SUMMER August 08 2012, 3 Comments

It's hot, it's long, it's American: It's a Wet Illustrated, Big Surr, Cy Barkley summer. We'll take your word for it. It must be, the way this vinyl is flying out the door. And the critics agree:
"Wet Illustrated also take a ton of cues from the artier, further-out edges of late-’70s British postpunk. There’s a playful edge to this band; their riffs are jaunty, and their vocals edge toward the yippy more often than not; they’ve clearly spent some time watching and learning from Robyn Hitchcock. A jumpy, jittery, and overall fun ride — like the Fresh And Onlys, if someone put Pixie Stix in their acid" (STEREOGUM) Get the "Skorpio Wings" 7" right HERE.
"Big Surr: It seems like when it's summer you can't get enough of these steamy, layered laid back tracks for the slow drive around, windows down, everything in slow motion and if it's winter you want to just be reminded of those times when things weren't so freezing cold...this one wins either way pretty much. "Cosine, Tangent" has those heavy delayed vocals echo-ing forever inside a giant smooth cavern. Massive chords played in slow motion, harmonies elevating the whole thing into the heavens, feedbacking waves fading in and out. Like a dirty, distortion hazed Real Estate, the melodies creep up on you and just get better and better. Extended, the song thankfully takes forever and they break the zone out with a serious insane solo to snap you out of the lull for a minute and separate them from the typical shoegaze track." (7 INCHES) Get the "Baked and Bruised" 7" right HERE
"Since the unfortunate passing of Jay Reatard, there has been a void in the hearts of scumfucks everywhere. Enter Cy Barkley, a man straddling the line between garage and punk with a black Gibson in hand. Rock Together showcases a more accessible side of Cy Barkley and the Way Outsiders’ dirty punk music that could put a wistful tear in Keith Morris’ eye. “When you say you don’t know, please tell me, I’ll follow you,”  Barkley shouts over glammy riffs, pounding bass and unrelenting drums in “Rock Together”, the EP’s Single." (GET BENT) And now here's Cy's killer new full-length, "So Bad". It's so good. Get it right HERE.